JR’s Not-So-Literal Blog

Creativity Got You Here, So Don’t Stop

Posted in Uncategorized by notsoliteral on October 4, 2009

I’ve been spending a lot of time with fellow bloggers lately and I’m realizing that there’s a common denominator arising that concerns yet comforts me: people who work their butts off through blogging and social networking to get great jobs tend to blog to a lesser extent once they actually get these good job positions.

I wrote a ton of blog posts for several years over several different blogs. At times, everything I wrote was focused on establishing myself as an authority and other times I just wrote to tease out some stuff that was bothering me inside. I love to blog, but more importantly I love to write.

Now I’m in a job role that is completely immersed in social media and I interact with bloggers on a daily basis. There is a whole spectrum of blogger types that blog about virtually anything you can think of. The barriers that keep many people from blogging is that they think nobody will be interested in what they have to say and therefor don’t feel compelled to put their ideas out on the internet to be judged and criticized.

Then, bam; yr. hooked!

Whether a long road or a short road, bloggers who interact with an active community can easily get addicted to the ways that ideas flow and evolve from a single post. Suddenly writing isn’t a chore, it’s a true pleasure that you look forward to more and more each day. For me, blogging kept me going despite working a day job that wasn’t challenging me in the ways I wanted to be challenged. I had a vision that I’d be working in social media and be getting paid to write to some extent in the not so distant future.

After putting in countless hours of extra freelance work, blogging, pro-bono volunteer work and simply keeping on my hustle up, I landed an amazing job at Brazen Careerist that brought me 1100 miles from home to Madison, Wisconsin. I’m doing what I love, full time now and realize that as I got closer to this goal, knowing I was nearing the finish line, I was blogging less.

Not okay! You’ve got to keep on your writing grind no matter what. Even if you’re not blogging towards a specific topic, or if you’re inhumanly busy during the day, you’ve gotta keep flexing your creative muscles in some way. It is too easy to fall off on being creative because it’s extra energy that you don’t necessarily feel like you have. However, if you put the work in on something you’re passionate about, you’ll get from point A to point B. Once you’re at point B, point C awaits you!

Complacency = soul death.

So, I’ll continue to remind myself that I shan’t forget what brought me forth. I suggest you do the same. Keep creating folks

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Andhari said, on October 5, 2009 at 5:01 am

    Yesssss you have such a cool job now, I always wonder how it is working and meeting bloggers in daily basis. Pretty much like I predicted, good for you.

    And lucky for all of us you’re still blogging and updating us here 🙂

  2. Jay said, on October 5, 2009 at 8:17 am

    Yeah, JR, You go with the reminder to Keep on trucking, as we saiid back when, or at least admired the R. Crumb classic cartooniness of it all.

    I’ll say this: It was nice to have a comment on my musings on laughter the other day. Thanks for paying attention.

    There’s a lot of effort required to blog, and moreso for those “slowwriters” among us, of which I know I’m one.

    But knowing someone’s reading makes a difference.

    That’s what I’m doing here now.

    Jay

  3. cpxinteractive said, on October 5, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    I agree with Andhari, lucky us that you’re still blogging! I’m so happy for you that you found a job that you love, and I think the title of this post says it all. It’s your love of writing and creativity that got you the awesome job, so don’t lose that because you have the awesome job. Best of luck in your new home!

  4. Corvida Raven said, on October 5, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    I completely agree with you JR and glad that you were able to catch it before it happened. Just remember that sometimes you can’t help it. Sometimes, one community will take your attention away more than another. It happens to the best of us, but don’t apologize for it.

    Your readers will understand. Just keep everyone posted on where you’re writing.

  5. Lola Lakely said, on October 7, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    “You’ve got to keep on your writing grind no matter what”- I absolutely agree with this. I stopped writing so often, as work began to get in the way, and I’ve gotten a few emails from concerned readers lately so I know I need to be more focused. So now my goal is to post at bare minimum twice a week. Stay tuned to tomorrow’s post where discuss relationships and Zombie attacks. Intrigued?

  6. notsoliteral said, on October 7, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    @Andhari I get as much out of reading people’s blogs and comments as I get out of writing it’s a wondaful thing 🙂

    @Jay, as much effort as it takes, I think it builds a little something every time you hit publish. Not sure what, but I’ll let you know when I know!

    @Sam, thanks for the well wishes as always!

    @Corvida, you make a great point! I think as long as you’re writing and creating to some capacity, you’re okay. The blog topic may change, even the medium might, but as long as your brain is getting exercise!

    @Lola, I am so down for the Zombie post. I’m all ears/eyes! Glad you’re still on board!

  7. Sabera said, on October 20, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    I relate to what you say in this post. While I simply adore blogging for my food blog and always have tons of content to add to it, I feel apprehensive writing more on my personal blog, inspite of the fact that I have so much to share. It scares me to put myself out there and be judged like that in the blogosphere. Frankly, it’s just lack of confidence in what I write. This was a huge reason a got myself off Brazen Careerist.

    I hope I get out of the confidence + creativity rut soon.

  8. notsoliteral said, on October 21, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    @Sabera, it feels great to stare something embarrassing or vulnerable about yourself in the eye and write honestly about it. It gets easier and more empowering the more you do it. If you’re truly honest about what you’re feeling and what you believe you’ll get some amazing feedback and encouragement… as for being judged by mean people… to hell with them! 🙂

  9. Joseph Yi said, on October 22, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    Great post JR! I love the closing:
    “So, I’ll continue to remind myself that I shan’t forget what brought me forth. I suggest you do the same. Keep creating folks”

    So true. Keep it up!

  10. notsoliteral said, on October 24, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    Thanks Joseph!


Leave a Reply

