JR’s Not-So-Literal Blog

Mid-September Goal Checkup

Posted in Uncategorized by notsoliteral on September 22, 2009

Remembering that Rebecca Thorman thinks I should be more specific about my goals (she’s right!) I’ve got some updates and add-on goals for myself!

-Fitness craze is going aight. Schedule has gotten busier and meals have gotten less organized, however my weight is steady and even dropping and I’m feeling pretty strong via pushups and pullups. However I’d like to lose at least 5 pounds next month. Hoping to find a reasonably priced Brazilian Jiu Jitsu or Muay Thai gym to relieve stress and give me an interesting excersie option when the weather gets cold. This should be interesting based on my following update…

-I know where I’ll be living now… Madison, Wisconsin! As most of you read, I got a great job in a great city and I’m moving! Quite a relief to have a solid long-term gig to be excited for. I need to find an apartment to live in sometime in the next week, so wish me luck on that end! I’ve found some that I really like so we’ll see! Need to get in touch and put some money down.

-Time management is rocking so far. I quit my job and I’m knocking things off of my to-do list left and right. The apartment is getting packed!

-I believe my sleep average has gotten up to 7 hours a night. When I get to Madison I want it to be 8 hours. Wishful thinking? We’ll see!

-Not spending much dough besides on moving expenses. Saving account should look better come Holiday time.

How is everyone else’s month going so far?

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lisa Sonora Beam said, on September 24, 2009 at 6:18 am

    Hi,
    Thanks for the thumbs up on FB on tonite’s blog post.

    I just have been exploring your blog now — very inspiring.

    Was just at UW Madison teaching a class at the Bolz Center for Arts Admin. Those very smart people are using my book, The Creative Entrepreneur, as their text.

    I think Madison is one of the most wonderful places in the world — and not just because they are using my book.. h a ha.

    Good luck in your new gig. Sounds like a lot of fun.

  2. andhari said, on September 24, 2009 at 9:26 am

    Moving is awesomeeee. And Brazen peeps sound cool to hang out with from what I’ve noticed, good to know you have friends there already to meet up in regular basis.

    Anyhoo, try muaythai. I did a muaythai pretty regularly a few months ago. Now I stick with home gym, and pilates like twice a week. Crazy schedule.

  3. Amanda Broman said, on September 24, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    I just started reading your blog, via Brazen Careerist, and I think it is great that you are making the move to Madison! It is a great town, in fact I may be moving there from MN next fall. There is a ton to do and it is beautiful year-round.

    As far as workout suggestions, I am partial to kickboxing; it really keeps me going.

    I wish you the best of luck during the move and your first few weeks at Brazen. I look forward to hearing more about your experiences through your blog!

  4. Lola Lakely said, on September 25, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    Since your tweets caught my interest, I decided to check out your blog. I wish mine was as insightful. I think I may keep an eye on yours. πŸ˜‰

  5. notsoliteral said, on September 26, 2009 at 1:55 am

    Whatever Lola wants… :-p

  6. notsoliteral said, on September 26, 2009 at 1:56 am

    @Lisa, I’m really pumped for Madison. You and so many people have given me a lot to look forward to!

  7. notsoliteral said, on September 26, 2009 at 1:58 am

    @Amanda, def. let me know if you’re ever in Madison and if you move there. Newbies tend to have an interesting perspective and I’d love to hear yours!

    As for kickboxing, I may do that, however being concussed from sparring isn’t so fun when you’re using your brain for work. I may gravitate towards what I’m good at and doesn’t require any blunt force trauma πŸ™‚ aka Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

  8. notsoliteral said, on September 26, 2009 at 1:59 am

    @Andhari, I knew you did Muay Thai, you look like you’ve got sharp elbows!

    I will def. keep this blog updated with my new lifestyle and job in Madison. The company is all about brand transparency, so I don’t have to watch my back every time I publish a post πŸ™‚

  9. floreta said, on September 27, 2009 at 6:46 am

    wow, i wouldn’t think of wisconsin as a place for me to move, but good luck with all that πŸ™‚ how exciting


Leave a Reply

