JR’s Not-So-Literal Blog

The Silence Is Broken, My Bags Are Packed and My Smile is Wide

Posted in Uncategorized by notsoliteral on September 16, 2009

So here’s the score: I’m moving to Madison, Wisconsin.

I’m going to be working for a company called Brazen Careerist which is a social network that helps folks from Generation Y find and develop meaningful careers as well as assist their employers in understanding and retaining them.

I’ve been working on a contract basis for Brazen Careerist as a community content editor and will start my full time position in Madison on October 5th.

To say I’m excited would be an understatement. I’ve never worked for a genuine startup before. I never thought I’d be working for some of the folks who inspired me to start honing my social media brand and really tease out and pursue my passions. I’m honored to be working with such a kick ass crew.

I’m cognizant of the challenges that lie ahead for me; relocating to a city over 1,000 miles away where I don’t know anyone too well yet and jumping into a job role that has very high expectations associated with it.

The entire team at Brazen Careerist has been extremely helpful in prepping me for my move, even helping me look for and secure housing! I know that on top of all this, I’m coming into this situation with pressure to perform in a big way. I know what’s expected of me and I’m looking to meet and exceed those expectations soon.

So, when am I leaving? I suspect I’ll be on the road westward between September 28th and 30th. I’ll be chilling in the Brazen Careerist office getting my bearings straight and getting settled in once I get there and officially starting work on October 5.

My last day at my current job at TNS-MI Cymfony is next Wednesday, Sept 23. I’ll be in and out of Boston getting my life together for the move. Looking forward to spending some time with folks who are free before I leave. If I don’t catch you now, I’ll be back to visit again soon.

My door is always open, too. Standard policy with me.

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. legaldunki said, on September 16, 2009 at 3:43 am

    Congrats! Brazen is lucky to have you. I’m sure you will hit the ground running and meet if not exceed expectations! Congrats on finding a job that makes you happy. I look forward to following your journey along this path in life.

  2. Rebecca said, on September 16, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    Congratulations! I can’t wait to meet you and I know the Brazen team is looking forward to having you come on board. See you soon! 🙂

  3. notsoliteral said, on September 16, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    @Kristina, thanks!

    @Rebecca, super pumped to meet the whole Mad-Town crew!

  4. Sam said, on September 16, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    Congrats! I know you’ll do great at the new gig! Don’t forget about us East Coasters 🙂

  5. Michael Cruse said, on September 17, 2009 at 4:55 am

    Congratulations! It seems you have a passion for the company and its purpose. I have the same for what I do, and it makes the days go by quick and never seems much like work. I think this is how it should be. Enjoy the first six months, they are always the most exciting.

  6. jennyguerrero said, on September 18, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    Congratulations. That is awesome. You will definitely exceed their expectations. No worries. As long as you add passion for the company & it’s mission, and your expertise to the mix.. the cake will be rising in no time. 🙂

  7. Ted said, on September 18, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    Cool opportunity – congratulations and good luck! They are fortunate yo have you on board full time!

  8. jonathan hung said, on September 18, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    Hey! you’re making this move at the same time I was making my plans for a trip out to Boston. wtf 😉

    good luck out there!

  9. notsoliteral said, on September 19, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    @Sam, I’m pretty sure there is a LOT of love for the East Coast at Brazen Careerist, we won’t forget you folk! You can take us out, but you can’t take it out of us!

  10. notsoliteral said, on September 19, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    @Michael, thank you sir! The first 6 months are going to be quite a ride.. and if I can survive six months of this weather I’m hearing so much about I’ll be fortified enough to make a real run at it 😉

  11. notsoliteral said, on September 19, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    @JennyG thank you for the vote of confidence!!!

  12. notsoliteral said, on September 19, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    @Ted, thank you!

  13. notsoliteral said, on September 19, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    @Jon, how about that timing? We’ll chill out eventually, dude. If you’re around on Oct 8th, EL-P is doing New England shows just that weekend. Check it out for me!

  14. andhari said, on September 20, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    I’m happy for you, James. This is a real big deal!:) I’m sure you gonna love what you do and have fun while you do so.

    • notsoliteral said, on September 20, 2009 at 3:01 pm

      @Andhari, thank you so much! The adventure continues! 🙂

  15. floreta said, on September 27, 2009 at 6:49 am

    WHOA! i didn’t know brazen was based in madison of all places, and that is a huge deal!! that’s an amazing job opportunity.. love social media 🙂

  16. Jay Hepner said, on September 30, 2009 at 8:29 am

    JR, Your “not-so-literal”ness kept me reading; the INTP pulled me in. I”ve been measuredas INFP, but like to think of myself as an EIEIO-NFP.

    But I have been known to over-analyze data, so here I am…

    Don’t forget to stop at Anderson’s original custard stand on Sheridan Ave, north of Buffalo. Stop at night, sleep in the next am, and head back for lunch: beef on weck and some of their great custard malts.

    You’ll be glad you did.

    Jay

    • notsoliteral said, on October 2, 2009 at 10:58 pm

      Jay, Ive been eating well since I got here, so I will for sure check out this place you speak of. A friend told me the custard in these parts is legendary! Thanks for the tip!


Leave a Reply

