JR’s Not-So-Literal Blog

The Best Cities For Gen Y: The Ones We Haven’t Been To Yet

Posted in Uncategorized by notsoliteral on July 1, 2009

For those of you who may have checked out the latest edition of the Brazen Community Newsletter there was a link to another top list of places where generation Y folks would fit well. Two cities that I have lived in are on the list and I find it amusing, yet semi-confusing how these lists are accurately compiled and how most Gen Y’ers feel about them.

I’m going out on a limb and stating that cost-of-living compared to the availability of living wage jobs with a mixture of culture and diversity makes the best city for a Generation Y person such as myself. Boston rocks, but it is expensive as sin to live in and the jobs for a creative person aren’t so easy to come by. Worcester, a city further down the list that I happen to live in now is cool too; plenty of culture, diversity and things to do, but no jobs! Most people in Worcester need to travel outside of the city to Boston or the burbs.

I say the best place to live is the place I haven’t lived yet where I find a kick ass job and can afford my own place and go out for an art show, hip-hop concert and good meal every once in a while. I’d also like to be able to walk around safely and ride my bike places! That’s what I want.

Any suggestions?

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michelle said, on July 2, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    Santa Barbara, CA or some of the coastal suburbs in San Diego, CA.

    CA is on the pricer side, but there are a lot of opportunities and entertainment options. Biking is definitely a possibility.

    Also, Davis, CA is very bike-able. However, many people commute to Sacramento.

  2. notsoliteral said, on July 8, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    Michelle, thanks a bunch for the post. I don’t think I’d do well in a suburb, but you never know! A mixture of careerism and culture are what I yearn for as well as some urban flare that I can’t seem to deny myself.


Leave a Reply

