JR’s Not-So-Literal Blog

Change Is The Rule, Not The Exception

Posted in Uncategorized by notsoliteral on May 21, 2009

Matt Cheuvront from Life Without Pants (http://lifewithoutpants.com) has been raving about this book called “New Day Revolution” http://www.newdayrevolution.com) written by Sam Davidson and Stephen Moseley who are the founders of Cool People Care. The book talks about the inconvenience of change.

I think the concept “the inconvenience of change” is funny and ironic because in my view, change happens regardless of whether we think it is convenient or not. Everything in constantly changing and moving. As a person who takes pride in all the things I’ve learned and experienced, I believe that the more I embrace change the better life can potentially be. Of course, there are no guarantees that life will be good or kind out of my inherent goodness (heh, I know a few who would debate me on that statement), but my perception of the world and of those around me is going to be far more enjoyable if I don’t expect or demand as much and act gratefully for what I receive.

Knowing what I have control over is a powerful thing and letting go of most of the things I don’t have control over is also a big feat that improves my quality of life immeasurably. Being fluid and realistically knowing what I want out of life brings more opportunities to me rather than simply planting my feet and expecting good things to be handed my way because I feel I am entitled for some reason.

When you’re happy with what you’ve got and happy that you’re able to go after what you really feel you need in life, then what’s stopping you? Suddenly you appreciate every moment for the snap-shot of happiness, sadness, excitement or fear that it is and you just move on and experience the next moment to its fullest.

As for this book’s message to do socially and environmentally conscious work? I think it’s just grand! No matter what the scale of work you do for the great good is, it’s still contributing. Sometimes the apathy that results from the general malaise of the media and day to day struggles can take people’s eyes off the greater idea that we’re all basically the same and can learn from each other. Taking the limitations off of who you’re willing to learn from and what you’re willing to do to help another will not only improve the lives and well being of those around you, but it will improve your own life and well being too.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jenny Blake said, on May 29, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    JR – I love your take on this topic. I bookmarked your post last week and re-read it again today – such wise words! It is so, so true that change is happening all around us – often whether we want it to or not. Your message to let go of the things you can’t control is huge. For me, it also helps not to get stuck on WHY a change happened – I can drive myself crazy trying to figure it out when sometimes there just isn’t an answer. Thanks again for a great post!


Leave a Reply

