JR’s Not-So-Literal Blog

The Stuff Is Still Here-And It’s Staring At Me

Posted in Uncategorized by notsoliteral on November 8, 2009

So I’ve managed to organize all of the shit that I wanted to get rid of by piling it up into three distinct piles in my kitchen, living room and bedroom. I say “organize” but really mean “listlessly move everything about.” Although, they’re all conveniently stacked so that if I were to douse them in lighter fluid and toss a match, they’d go up in flames nicely. I was always an excellent pyromaniac on camping trips.

Imagine if I just DESTROYED everything I owned that I didn’t need? Hell, that would be so fricken hip and progressive, except yeah, I GET that there are plenty of people in this world who go without and I am not one of them. I hate waste. I go without nothing… well maybe I go without a few of those intangibles at the moment, but that’s for another blog post entirely. I’d really like to get these things to people to need them or at least want them.

I also want to really want things again. I want to desire objects and spacial awareness that I haven’t appreciated in a while. However, I want to desire things for the right reason. I want to have a better structure to place my things in and have the perspective to really enjoy them there.

The next time I write about the war against my stuff, there will be marked progress. Maybe marked progress in other areas too. Who knows!

Until then, ahoj.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. elysa said, on November 8, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    I’m on the same page as you this weekend. I just got Erin Doland of Unclutter’s new book Unclutter Your Life in One Week. So far so good. I like that I usually go through this type of wanting to get rid of stuff this time of year because I can take things to shelters during their busiest seasons.

    • notsoliteral said, on November 8, 2009 at 6:40 pm

      Elysa, I’ve got like 50 books I want to read right now, but that sounds like one I NEED in my life right now haha.. but to buy another book would go against everything… I need a kindle!

      Good luck on your de-clutter quest too!

  2. Treva said, on November 10, 2009 at 5:00 am

    I am pretty good at de-cluttering. Clutter actually stresses me out, and I occationally have a major freak-out and execute some sort of Stalin-esque purge on my inanimate objects. One day a weekend go room by room and sort through everything, what you need, what you want, what you don’t want/can’t live without. Then try to find a place for everything in the first two categories that you will remember where you put it. Then throw out, donate, or recycle everything else. Whatever you want to keep but can’t find a place for, go shopping for convenient storage methods. Until you know what you need to store and how accessible it needs to be shopping for storage is kind of impossible. I think organization is mostly about motivation, to find a place for everything, and to put it back in its place when you’re done.

    • notsoliteral said, on November 10, 2009 at 1:11 pm

      Great tips Treva! Keeping this stuff in maintenance mode is a good call.

  3. Raine said, on November 10, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    freecycle and craigslist is a great way of giving the stuff you dont need anymore to people who do want/need it. Good luck!

  4. notsoliteral said, on November 11, 2009 at 2:40 am

    Thanks Raine! Do you want any of this stuff? lol


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

